What is CAEP Accreditation?

CAEP AccreditationWhat is CAEP accreditation? CAEP is the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation. CAEP is responsible for the oversight on accredited programs, and ensures the proper teaching standards are fully implemented for its accredited programs. CAEP accreditation is widely considered as the top teaching program-specific accreditation.

The History of CAEP

CAEP is the new name for the accrediting boards that used to be the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). Essentially the two accrediting boards merged into one in 2016. In 2014, CAEP was recognized by the CHEA as an accrediting board, and they started the transition.

What Does CAEP Do?

CAEP is responsible for the oversight on accredited programs, and ensures the proper teaching standards are fully implemented for its accredited programs. CAEP is responsible for ensuring teaching programs at multiple levels are teaching the same subject matter in the same way, which helps fully educate teachers best and helps schools, colleges, and other employers have a greater understanding of what they are getting in a CAEP-prepared teacher.

CAEP Candidate Standards

The CAEP commission has a structure for the standards that were identified as a must by the National Academy of Sciences 2010 report, Preparing Teachers: Building Evidence for Sound Policy. The NAS panel research found that there were nearly a dozen factors that likely had strong effects on student outcomes of content knowledge, field experience, and quality of teacher candidates. Thus, CAEP adopted multiple standards, listed below – full document is at CAEPnet.org.

Adapting that guidance to its task, the first three standards recommended by the Commission are:
Standard 1: Content and Pedagogical Knowledge
Standard 2: Clinical Partnerships and Practice
Standard 3: Candidate Quality, Recruitment, and Selectivity
Standard 4: Program Impact
Standard 5: Provider Quality Assurance and Continuous Improvement

CAEP Teaching Subject Standards

They also adopted standards that any CAEP accredited program must adhere to. Content and pedagogical knowledge expected of candidates is articulated through the InTASC standards. These standards are:

Standard #1: Learner Development. The teacher understands how learners grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.

Standard #2: Learning Differences. The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards.

Standard #3: Learning Environments. The teacher works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self motivation.

Standard #4: Content Knowledge. The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content.

Standard #5: Application of Content. The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.

Standard #6: Assessment. The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher’s and learner’s decision making.

Standard #7: Planning for Instruction. The teacher plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross-disciplinary skills, and pedagogy, as well as knowledge of learners and the community context.

Standard #8: Instructional Strategies. The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways.

Standard #9: Professional Learning and Ethical Practice. The teacher engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his/her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.

Standard #10: Leadership and Collaboration. The teacher seeks appropriate leadership roles and opportunities to take responsibility for student learning and development, to collaborate
with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth, and to advance the profession.